"I cannot sleep unless I am surrounded by books."


Saturday, March 24, 2007

The Chestnut Soldier

The Chestnut Soldier
Author: Jenny Nimmo
Publisher: Scholastic
ISBN-10: 0439846773
ISBN-13: 978-0439846776

Recommended for grades 5-7

The Chestnut Soldier
is the third in the fantasy Snow Spider series set in the hills of Wales. Gwyn the magician is back, along with Emlyn and Nia. This story takes place two years after Emlyn’s Moon. The children are older now and settling into their lives when things take a turn when the mad prince Efnisien’s dark spirit is accidentally released. At first, the children think that everything is okay, but when a mysterious relative – a soldier appears things really start to get interesting.

This is by far the strongest in the series and a worthy ending to the trilogy. The children are teenagers now and have their tumultuous emotions to deal with as well as the mysterious stranger, dark magic and danger.

Gwyn’s magic is challenged as he desperately battles to save his friends and the world from the dark soul which has captured the troubled soldier all the while trying to save his friendship with Nia as well.

Once again Jenny Nimmo has created a magical and completely believable fantasy. Her ability to mingle legend and the everyday modern life and make it completely plausible is nothing short of masterful. The Chestnut Soldier is sure to be an all time favorite.

No comments: